Raw Nutty Cheezcake

Anyone who knows me is aware of my obsession with nut butters. It has gone so far that I even have to get my friends and family to hide it from me if it’s in the house! Zero self control. There are special occasions when I blow out completely and my belated birthday celebration was one of these. Hence, my decision to make a scrumptious raw nutty cheezcake.

The recipe today requires a variety of ingredients. Some are quite pricey to buy however the savvy consumer in me always looks for bargains and specials in store. I went to my local whole sale grocer (Spud Shed for fellow Perth readers) and scoured the health food isles of chain grocers (Coles and Woolworths in Australia).

17021412_1323300637709063_305209248445647216_n

Base Ingredients

-1/2 cup of medjool dates

-1 cup of organic unsalted peanuts (you could also use cashews)

-1 tbsp maple syrup

– 1/2 tsp cinnamon

– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Cheezcake filling Ingredients

-1 ½ cups of soaked cashews (soak in a container of water overnight)

-4 tbsp maple syrup

-3 tbsp coconut oil (melted if solid)

-3 tbsp organic peanut butter or other nut butter of your choice

-1 tsp vanilla extract

 

Nutty Bark (topping) Ingredients

-1/2 cup of soaked cashews

-3 soaked medjool dates

-1/4 cup of almond milk or other plant based milk alternative

-2 tbsp coconut oil (melted if solid)

 

Method:

  1. Blend all of the base ingredients. I did this in a Ninja blender, however a food processor might easier. You can make the consistency as rough or smooth as you like. I liked having chunks of peanuts in my base.
  2. Grease a loaf tin or small round cake tin with coconut oil.
  3. Press the mixture into the tin and keep in the fridge while you prepare the rest of the cake.
  4. Drain the soaking cashews and place in the blender.
  5. Add the other filling ingredients. It is that simple! Blend until it is a smooth consistency. No one likes a lumpy cheezcake.
  6. Pour the filling on top of the base mix. Place in the fridge and try not to dip your finger into the tasty mixture! Lick the spoon though.
  7. The ‘nutty bark’ is an added extra and isn’t necessary for the cake but it does add a wow factor to the completed dessert.
  8. Blend the ingredients together.
  9. Grease a shallow tray or container. Pour the mixture in and place in the freezer until it is solid (about an hour should be perfect!).
  10. When you are ready to plate up the cake take the bark out of the freezer. Cut into small triangular shapes and arrange on top of the cake.
  11. I find the cheezcake keeps well in the fridge or freezer, although it never lasts long in my house! I always find myself in my Nigella inspired moments, sneaking another bite at midnight.

 

cheexcake

Leave a Reply

