London Calling Part 1

2016 has been a rollercoaster of a year. One of the best of my life for so many reasons, with tears, laughter and so many emotional hurdles. The previous year had been one of heart ache, misery and I felt like I truly didn’t know who I was. I was going through a vicious and self destructive cycle of partying, drinking and treating my body like garbage.

Bad habits and lack of self love was crushing my spirit and I didn’t see much point in what I was doing. So I decided enough was enough and I made the decision to move to the UK. It was something I had always wanted to do since I was younger. Having grown up as a bit of a gypsy child, moving overseas numerous amounts of times, this adventure was thrilling. A fresh start! Always a great way to solve your problems! Hmmm no, just mask them for a little while.

However, a combination of travelling and educating myself on the benefits of a plant based diet, I slowly began to heal myself in London.

 

I thank my year in London for many things :

-The beautiful, kind hearted friends I have made here (who I will cherish forever)

-The ability to easily and cheaply travel to the most incredible parts of Europe at my own leisure on weekends and during school term holidays.

-The incredible children I have been grateful enough to teach every day. No matter where you are in the world, children are children. They are full of love and have taught me so much.

-A stress free lifestyle that has allowed me to have the time to focus on my fitness and vegan journey

-BUT.. the number one thing I thank London for is the opportunity I have been given to appreciate what I took for granted. Australia will always be home. It’s sandy beaches, painted sunsets and glorious landscapes are a dream come true. I have a loving family and caring friends there too. Life back home isn’t so bad. It is what I make it really and that is the attitude I will embrace when I depart London and make the journey back home.

 

img_1822

Leave a Reply

